Hunting Fishing & Foraging · Restaurant Review · Travels: Norway

Møkstrafjorden Seaweed and Bekkjarvik Gjestiveri

On our evening walk, we came to a little cove in the fjord around the island called Møkstrafjorden. It was absolutely gorgeous, and so I rushed down to the water where I saw a wide array of beautiful seaweed. I was squealing like a little kid. I counted over five varieties. Hilde had no idea why I was so excited. She said that the seaweed wasn’t a traditional food in this area. I was astounded! So, of course, I picked some. Kelp (Laminaria digitata) seems to be in abundance everywhere. I also saw badderlocks, or Irish wakame (Alaria esculenta), bladderwrack (Fucus vesiculosus), and many others. I dried some of the seaweed to bring home, and I think I’m going to make a salad with the rest of it. Remember to make sure that any seaweed you collect comes from water that is safe and clean! I’ll post when I finally cook with my beautiful find!

One of Norway’s most famous chefs, and winner of the 2012 Bocuse d’Or Europe, Ørjan Johannessen, was mentioned in a newspaper article we saw that night. He seems to have done the same thing that I did when he saw the seaweed. There was a big picture of him with a leaf of badderlocks, bright green, and just out of its blanching liquid. He is serving it as a salad in his famous restaurant Bekkjarvik Gjestiveri in Austevoll. The article says that he blanches it, slices it into thin strips, tosses it in olive oil with fresh ginger, fennel seed, a little sesame oil, and a dash of soy sauce.

Hilde and I had the pleasure of eating there last year. It was a present to Hilde from my mother, as a thank you for hosting me. She was so excited! It was adorable. Here are some photos:

The view from the restaraunt in Bekkjarvik
Hilde being fancy!
Fiskesuppe, Fish Soup
Breiflabb, Anglerfish
Chocolate Bomb with Raspberry Sorbet
Caramel Pudding (Oh My Wow!)

Leave a Reply

