Trifles & Cheesecakes

Ricotta Cheesecake with Black Currant Jam

I’ve been creating a lot of my own recipes lately. I’ve gotten ahold of a lot of basics which has given me the opportunity to experiment. This recipe was born out of a sweet tooth and a limited fridge.
Honestly, I’m not sure about the amounts; I just kind of eyeballed it. This is my best guess:
I began by fashioning the bottom of a 6-inch pan with a round of pate brisee, which I blind baked, baked without filling. I baked it at around 415ºF until it was golden.
During that time I mixed about a cup and a half of nonfat ricotta with one egg and a scant quarter cup of heavy cream. I added a pinch of salt, vanilla extract, and just enough sugar to give it a dessert feel. I poured this over the crust and baked it at 350ºF until it was firm and didn’t wiggle too much when I shook it. If my memory serves me this took around 40 minutes. I heated up some of my homemade black currant jam in the microwave and poured it over the fully cooked cheesecake. I put this under the broiler until the jam boiled, but before it burned. I let it cool and turned it out onto a plate.
It was delicious! I was especially glad I only used one egg. Ricotta can become rubbery with too many eggs. This filling was creamy and not too hard. I really enjoyed the little bit of tartness from the jam too. It was a lovely cheesecake. The best bit is that it doesn’t have to be baked in a bain marie, or hot water bath.
It was so creamy that the slice was a little messy, and so too, apparently, was my photography.
No time for photos when there is dessert to be had!

Leave a Reply

