Pies & Tarts

Blueberry Tartlets

That’s right folks! In a moment of hunger and inspiration I created something truly magnificent! I wanted dessert, and when given a choice between apples, pears, kiwiberries, blueberries, and plums, all things that I had in the house, Adam chose blueberries. So there I was. I was to make a blueberry dessert. I happened to have a small amount of leftover pie crust in the refrigerator from my double crust blueberry nectarine pie, so I decided to use it. I began lining two small tartlet pans when Adam took out a small piece of chèvre cheese and smiled widely. I said that I would use it in the tart and he was surprised and happy. Three ingredients down.
So, here is what I did. I put about half of the blueberries in a little saucepan. I added half a vanilla bean, some pinot noir that I had open, a small squeeze of lemon juice, and some honey to taste.

I reduced this until I had basically made jam. I took if off the heat and folded the rest of the blueberries in. I adjusted the honey level and set the berry mixture aside.

By this point it was time to take out the tartlet shells, one of the upsides to 4.5 inch crusts. I un-molded them and let them cool on a wire rack so that they wouldn’t get soggy and tough. I took the chèvre cheese, added some honey, and mixed in heavy cream until it was the consistency of a thick yogurt.
I filled the crusts with the berries, put a dollop of the cheese, and added a few slivers of candied lemon zest that I made earlier this summer.
It was a super delicious, recipe-free creation. I intend on making it again someday. I do have a few ideas. I think it would be even more delicious if I used wild blueberries for the jam mixture; they have more flavor. They are sold in the organic freezer section if you haven’t had a chance to pick your own; as I haven’t. I also think that whipped cream, yogurt, sour cream, ricotta, cream cheese with milk, or crème fraîche would be delicious if you didn’t have chèvre around.
One more thing, I just learned the keypad codes for things like this: `e and this: î. That’s why I’ve decided to use them today!

Leave a Reply

