Pies & Tarts

Poached Pear & Custard Tartlets

It’s a beauty isn’t it?! This wonderful tart is yet again from Martha Stewart’s Pies and Tarts cookbook. They are both amazing, the cookbook and the tart that is.
It is made with red wine and white wine poached pears baked in a really really long shell of pate sucree, and filled in with a custard. The one problem I have with the recipe is the custard. It had flour and was a little gummy. Next time I will try to make in lighter.
The one challenge with this tart was its size. This rimmed baking sheet is a 3/4 sized one. It only barely fits in my oven. I obviously couldn’t find a tartlet mould like that in Anchorage, Alaska, so I had to make on. I thought about it for awhile and decided to make it out of aluminum foil. The reason I came to this decision was because I couldn’t find any tin sheeting online at Home Depot.
Here is what I came up with:
This is my aluminum foil tartlet mold filled with my dough and weighted with a small square of parchment, cheesecloth, and ceramic beads. I also had a little circle of crust, so I baked it.
It turned out perfectly.
After making the tart I had some extra red wine pears (they are bosc, the white are bartlett). I decided to bake them with the extra custard in a pie plate. They were great too! They were also healthier without the crust.
I really loved working with the poached pears! I hope you try it.

 

Leave a Reply

