Pies & Tarts

Treacle Tart

So I made this delicious treacle tart a while ago. It was most excellent with soft faintly sweet whipped cream. I made it with homemade breadcrumbs. Here is the basic idea: bake light treacle with fresh breadcrumbs, lemon zest, ginger, and a dash of lemon juice in a pastry crust. It is delicious!
For those of you who have no idea what treacle is, treacle is a syrup made of cane sugar. Light treacle is similar to corn syrup, and black treacle is similar to molasses. Basically, this is a really good sugar pie.
I could have made this into more of a tart shape, but I really wanted to use my beautiful pie plate. I love these I have two now, one in green and one in this sand color. I really want to get more. I love pretty pottery. These are wonderful because they’re really deep.
I didn’t use my new crust recipe on this one. See how the crimping melted? Yeah, that doesn’t happen anymore. Thanks Martha!

Leave a Reply

