Pies & Tarts

Pear Frangipane Tart

Yesterday I made a delicious pear frangipane tart from Martha Stewart’s original Pies and Tarts book. The pears were looking good in the Alaskan markets, so I went to town ! The tart was beautiful, even though it was slightly burnt, and it didn’t last very long!

Martha’s recipe begins by poaching firm but ripe Bartlett pears in a dry white wine syrup that has a cinnamon stick, a vanilla bean, some lemon zest, and lemon juice. They are then cooled, sliced and arranged on an unbaked tart that has been filled with a frangipane filling. Frangipane is an almond filling made with finely ground almonds, sugar, egg, butter, and in this case almond extract and golden rum. I left it in the oven a few minutes too long, and put a little too much of the frangipane, but it didn’t really matter in the end.

Here is my beautiful tart before I baked it.

If you have too many poached pears, as I did, you can either make another tart (I’ll be posting my second pear tart soon), or eat them with a little cream, whipped cream, or ricotta with cream, sugar, and cinnamon for a second simple dessert or breakfast treat. This morning I sat down with a poached pear drizzled with cream and watched Masterpiece Mystery’s Inspector Lewis. It was a much needed break between my days which are cram-packed with physics and chemistry homework.
I hope you look into Martha’s book, Pies and Tarts. She has a new edition out which I haven’t looked over yet, but her original from 1985 is truly inspired. I have multiple first edition copies. Any pie and tart lover should buy this book!

 

Leave a Reply

