Starter Breads

Easy Sourdough Pancakes

Easy Sourdough Pancakes
A hungry lady leads to lazy plating!

I haven’t been so attentive to my sourdough lately, so I had a lot that hadn’t been fed recently. I love this recipe because it calls for two whole cups of unfed sourdough. It is great when you need to use a lot up. The recipe made enough pancakes for my boyfriend and I to have breakfast yesterday and today.

I took some of the Lactic Cheese I made, and added a little sugar to sweeten it. We had the pancakes with some warmed peaches yesterday. Today, I boiled chopped frozen rhubarb I picked last summer, with a little bit of sugar to make a slightly tart sauce. It is great with the cheese! The cheese also has less fat than whipped cream, and tastes much more decadent.

I wasn’t planning on posting this, as you can tell in the simplicity of the presentation in the photo. Then, I realized that this is one of my go-to recipes, and I should share it with you!

Ingredients:

2 cups unfed sourdough (it works well if it is room temperature, but it doesn’t have to be)
2 tablespoons of sweetener (you might need more if your starter is particularly sour, I used maple syrup)
2 tablespoons of oil or shortening (butter, canola, olive, coconut oil, anything really)
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon of baking soda diluted in 1 tablespoon of cold water

1. Mix the sourdough, sweetener, oil, egg, and salt in a bowl.

2. Preheat your pan or skillet.

3. At the last second stir in the baking soda and water mixture. It will cause the sourdough to foam.

4. Ladle or pour the batter onto your pan. Cook until bubbles form. Flip, and cook until golden.

These are pretty wonderful and versatile!

Leave a Reply

