Allergy Friendly · Cookies/Biscuits

Thumbprint Cookies

b2bd2-photo-37

These are DELICIOUS. They are my favorite cookies, for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert. They also happen to be vegan, and very good for you. They can be made wheat and gluten free. Talk about a wonderful recipe! And the best part is, they don’t have that odd “I’m missing something delicious” taste that so many allergy and vegan friendly recipes have. This recipe is from my mom, and I’m not sure where she got it.

Ingredients:

1 cup flour (you can use oat [for gluten free], whole wheat, or white. I prefer whole wheat)
1 cup rolled oats ground up into coarse cornmeal size
1 cup raw almonds ground into similarly small chunks
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 cup maple syrup (I use Grade B for a stronger maple flavor)
Canola oil until a dough forms, about 1/2 cup
Jam of your choice (I use Reduced Sugar Raspberry)

1. Mix ingredients except jam and canola oil in a bowl. Slowly add oil until a dough forms. Refrigerate until fully chilled. This helps when you form the cookies.

2. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

3. Roll into 1 inch diameter balls, squish them down a bit, and form a well in the middle for the jam. They don’t melt much so what you see is kind of what you get. Arrange them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment. Fill each cookie with a spoonful of jam.

4. Bake cookies for around 18 to 20 minutes or until they are golden brown and then jam is bubbling in the center. Cool fully before moving or eating. They are very delicate when they are hot, and the boiling jam can easily burn you.

These are my favorites! I hope you enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Thumbprint Cookies

  1. I can't wait to try this – on pay day I am going to grab the last of what I need and make as many as I can! Hopefully they look as wonderful as yours.

    I know that they are cookies and meant to be round, but do you think that they would work if I tried to turn them into something like cereal bars?

    Like

  2. I'm not sure about that. The cookie that is covered by the jam is usually a lot more moist than the rest of the cookie. I would recommend making them as little circles first. If you do try them as bars let me know! I'd love to have shortcuts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

